top of page

Connecting with Nature

Date number five and all in one month (I’m catching up on those missed dates quick)! After the crazy week I had this date couldn’t come soon enough. I was all set to go outside and get my Duck Dynasty on with a good old fashion hike accompanied by my friend Sarah.

Sarah is another one of the lovely ladies from my SNT group, who I met at Towson University (Sam is the only one from my SNT group with a date left, yeah). Sarah is Mass Communication (like me!!!!) and Art major. I have to point out that Sarah has come out of her shell a lot since joining the National society for leadership and success (so proud of her, you go girl)! She is even writing this kickass sci-fi book (lovin it) and does photography in her spare time!

When I said I had a rough week well, my ex-boyfriend the one I made this date box for, the one I was in love with, the one who was going to propose to me, the one I was with for 3 years and broke up with in January… He got engaged this past week. I was shocked (is an enormous understatement…I may have gotten a little drunk, cried & listened to crappy music but… let it out… to get over it). I didn’t expect to feel anything.

Sarah and I connected with nature on this date we went hiking at Soldiers Delight Natural Environment Area in Owings Mills. It is so pretty there! The park has over 39 rare, threatened, or endangered plant species as well as rare insects, rocks and minerals. We saw some great views, funky rocks, neat plants! I also packed us a picnic! Super fun easy date and free!!! Fantastic to get you and yours out of that slump and into a sunshiny mood!

Sarah has been great at modernizing me. I am a 29 year old in college with others who are 20-24 year olds, who know more about the new lingo and the new apps that come out daily. Social media can be a great outlet, but it can also be a dangerous place. Sarah did something amazing, most people will never know what she did but it was all because of social media…all I’m gonna say is if you see something say something. You never know who is serious and who isn’t, your actions and words have significance.

Signage is so important. Sarah and I almost walked into a hunting area, thank god we turned around (that could have turned out horribly)! There were only very small signs posted and the first one we came across was behind us on accident. We were looking at the part of the park that is being restored and decided to read what the board had to say about the project. Sarah and I almost continued walking but I saw a smaller sign and went to look over and see what it said. The sign warned us that we were now in a hunting zone, we swiftly turned our asses around and hiked backed into the safety area(honestly didn’t think it was a huge deal until we heard gun shots later on our hike).

A sign like this would have been great!

Words are changing, evolving and expanding in meaning. Sarah taught me about all these new terms for sexuality (check out the chart I posted). I had no idea people identified themselves so many ways now. I think it is amazing that our culture is changing to expand to fix everyone’s unique personalities! I was surprised with this being the first time outside our group meetings how easy it is to talk to Sarah about anything! Sarah is funny, beautiful, smart and filled with personality! Everyone needs a Sarah!

I was mad at myself for being upset over my ex getting engaged but I had some priceless people help me realize it is okay to be upset because he effected my son and I can’t get those years back. Instead they my friends (you know who you are) helped me realize that it’s okay to have feeling about it. I’m only human and it’s a lot to deal with but I should just be happy. I know he can’t make me happy, I know that I deserve so much better. Everyone deserves to be happy, so if they are happy then I’m happy for them! Congratulations!!!!

So what did we learn?

  1. Everyone is unique! You are beautiful! You are smart! You are amazing! You are fabulous! To each there own… wear your individuality with pride!

  2. Sometimes you have to let yourself feel it in order to get over it.

  3. Keep up with the times… social media, terms, etc.

  4. Signage is so important!!!!!!!!!

  5. Be happy for your ex’s because guess what… THEY DON”T DESERVE YOU!

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Instagram Long Shadow
My Favorite Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page