top of page

The Gardens!

I have been slacking... I have been feeling a little overwhelmed by everything else going on in my life that I was lacking the motivation to write( & the closer the friend the harder this is to write). Then a few of my friends and some of my cousins asked me when I was going to post again because they love reading them (really they are probably thinking...bitch just get over it already. You got this)! It made me feel like I'm not wasting my time writing. I guess I have just kinda been in a slump (confused about stupid shit) but I feel a change coming (fuck it, who needs the stress just channel your inner Bob Marley cause everything is gonna be alright).

I have been looking forward to going on this date since I made the date box! I made some of my Waffle Maple Bacon Cupcakes (or should I say heaven in my mouth:-)***) and went on this date with one of my best friends, Melissa (Lissa, Melly or Lis...or if I'm walking in the door it's Lucy). I have known Melly for approximately 10 years. We met threw a mutual "friend" (at least that is what we will call him...douchebag). When I met Melissa she was dating a boy who was cheating on her with someone she thought was her friend. Our mutual "friend" knew about it and had told me all about it one day a few weeks prior to her and I meeting. I told our "friend" that they weren't being a friend, by not telling Lis about her dude and that if I ever met her, I would tell her. Our "friend" thought I was joking... when he brought Melissa over to my apartment for the first time they both were in shock when I informed her of the cheating bastard Melissa thought she knew (on the plus side Melissa has a fantastic boyfriend now and they adore each other). Since that day Melissa and I have been friends (she couldn't believe a stranger was the only one who would level with her).

I would say Lis is more like a sister then just a friend. She is the only girl I have lived with and we have a bond that can't be touched. Her and I have gone weeks, maybe even months without really talking because life got crazy busy and when we see each other and talk it is like we pick up right where we left off without explanation. She is the most carefree women I have ever met and she always brings me up when I'm feeling down. She is my gentle giant, my clumsy giraffe, and she has the best sense of humor (it's a little dry with just enough sarcasm to not know what to expect)! A date with Melissa is never dull! You must have a Melissa in your life or your missing out!

Melissa has giving me a theme song/anthem for my blog (her theme song is build me up buttercup... i associate everyone with a song, some even get multiple.... hahaha, song sluts. All have the songs for a reason they are with that person and they play in my head when i think about or am around that person...I'm not crazy I swear)! It is pretty fantastic, it is Queen's - I want to break free (the music video is hilarious...so ridiculous)! I love Queen!!! I may have broke into Bohemian Rhapsody once in waffle house with a friend and a assortment of drunken strangers.

You know that awkward silence in the car....? Do you talk? Do you listen to the radio? How do you decide what to talk about it? Lissa and I tend to talk about random ridiculous things for example clouds shapes or street names. One of the roads on the way to the Gardens was named Podunk now if that isn't one of the most bum-fuck names I have ever heard for a road then I don't know what is. When I'm in the car with Killian or anyone I don't know I'm getting to know I tend to ask questions like 3 movies you couldn't live without, if you have any hidden talents, would you rather have to fight a dragon or a giant octopus.... or any other question you can come up with.

Ladew Topiary Gardens is huge! It looks like you just woke up in Alice's dream, all we needed were some flamingos to grab by the feet and use for croquet and we would have been set to have tea with the mad hatter or get lost in the queens palace. This place is 22 acres of absolutely stunning artwork created with nature. The Gardens is broken into 29 different sections, each with a different theme and all just as spectacular as the one before. We packed a picnic and this date cost under $30.00 (you can find coupons in the local papers for discounts into the gardens too). Make sure you bring water, sunscreen and a camera (and wear comfortable walking shoes). I can't wait to go there again! During the summer they do concerts Sundays in the garden called "the great bowl" from 6pm-8pm, it is on my to do list to check one out!

Melissa had to answer a question from my list for our date, she choose- What is your biggest regret and why (to be honest I thought this would be the last question picked...remember that to each there own, shows how much I know..lol)? Melissa said that her biggest regret is that it took her this long to love herself. Not only love herself but to stop people pleasing and to really accept and embrace herself fully. Basically to stop giving a shit about what other people think! You go girl (not gonna lie I take pride in being part of the reason she no longer cares what others think of her not me alone I would also like to thank Lucy, Melissa's beautiful daughter, with our powers combined you did it! Okay a lot of it was Melissa but I was definitely her Obi Wan lol)! My biggest regret... Nothing. I really believe you can't regret anything you have done in your past because you won't be who you are today without that past. Every single bump, bruise, heartache, bad decision, I'll keep it and own it because I who I am.

So what did we learn.....?

1. Always be honest with your friends! If you aren't are they really even your friend?

2. Nothing is a waste of time. Just remember to take a step back and breathe if you are overwhelmed.

3. Everyone NEEDS a theme song (but pick a good one because your stuck with it)!

4. Don't regret things you can't change or have no control over. Remember you are amazing just the way you are!

P.S. Mental Note do not talk about previous blogs too much or you could lose content for new blog... Stay on task. Melissa and I did this. We were laughing and talking about them and had to redirect halfway through our date... (lol ....shiney).

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Instagram Long Shadow
My Favorite Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page