top of page

Sometimes you have to play the game


This blog date I went on this date with my friend Rick a while ago but I have been crazy busy with holidays, the end of my semester (so writing tons of papers and finals) then I went to London for my mini-semester (more about that later)… so I haven’t gotten the opportunity to write about it. I love all of my readers but college and family come first. My fall semester was jam packed (definitely my hardest classes to date), I had a 25 page thesis and 3 smaller papers to write all before finals! Yeah! The last few weeks of class are the worst. I feel like the 21 year olds just breeze right through all the papers and studying but my almost 30 year old ass does not respond the same way… it takes my twice as long and 4x the effort, throw in being a parent and real life issues and you end up with burnt out and zombie like Lexy (yeah…. but I still totally got this shit lol).

Rick and I have only been friends for about seven months, we have a mutual friend and Rick actually use to work with one of my cousins (small world sometimes). He is a really funny man and we share a love for metal music! On our date we had to play cards, poker to be more specific. Since my family is big on game nights, they were happy to help out on this date! Now, I’m not sure what any of your families are like but mine is fantastic and hilarious, yet sometimes they should come with a warning label…I mean that in the most loving way (for example. WARNING: They appear sweet like candy but don’t be fooled, like a wolf pack they can smell fear. All for one and one for all, we protect our own so do not mess with the family). Didn’t want to play 20 questions, well sorry buddy you came to the wrong place (lol, it’s what I love about them). I told Rick this on our way to go play card and he responded jokingly and thanked me for the warning (lol). Does your family require a warning label?

On our way to game night we talked about car games you we have played with our family and friends. Rick and I both grew up playing punch buggy (or slug bug… or whatever the hell you want to call it) where every time a Volkswagen beetle drives by you punch another person in the car (as hard as you can if you’re a part of my family) and yell “No Punch Back” (I’m not sure who invented this game but it never ends well for someone in the car….all is fair in love and punch buggy). Some of the other car games we discussed were I spy (stupidest game to play in a moving car btw), the license plate game (ADD no thank you), and padiddle (it’s when you see a car with a headlight out you say that and touch the ceiling last person in the PG version owes you a coke in the adult version the last person loses an article of clothing).

During the evening one of our conversations was about pick-up lines… the worst ones you have used, heard or that have been used on you. I have to admit I’ve had some horribly cheesy lines used on me because of bartending but sometimes they make you laugh. The worst one Rick heard one of this buddies use was “Nice shoes, wanna fuck?” (Let me just say if someone said this to me I’d slap the piss out of them). The most common we would agree is “Did it hurt? When you fell from heaven.” The one we (when I say we I’m including my lovely family that heard them) liked the best was this gem Rick told us “How much does a polar bear weigh? Enough to break the ice” (it makes you giggle and isn’t rude). Some of the other ones we talked about included “You must be exhausted because you been running through my mind all day”, “ Is there a mirror in your pocket because I can see myself in your pants”, you pretend to trip in front of a girl then she ask you if you are okay and you reply “I just fell for you”, “Your father must’ve been a thief because he stole the stars from the sky and put them in your eyes”, “I lost my phone number can I have yours?”, “I hope you know CPR because you take my breathe away”, and “I’ve just moved you to the top of my to do list.” All of these lovely pick-up lines are used every day in a bar near you so don’t be the fool who falls for them (remember these aren’t even all of the ones we came up with… there are so many just ask any of your friends I bet you could come up with your own list).

Rick and I had a great time playing games with my family (and lucky him they didn’t grill him with questions until the end of the night Lol…thank ya’ll). Game night gets a little competitive in my family, there is a lot of yelling, laughing and questioning each other (not to many fights haha), never dull. We kicked butt in poker and ended up winning it all! During cards a bunch of us had to keep looking at the cheat sheets because we were not sure which hand beat what but we learned by the end (it sure didn’t help our poker faces). Rick and I didn’t do as well in Partini… but we tried our best! That game is fun regardless of whether you are the winner or loser. It includes humming karaoke, what not to say, bouncing like beer pong, miming, and playing with clay (the game is always changing its fantastic).

Rick and I also talked about the worst way to be turned down (I even learned a whole new term). Rick told me about a time when he was out at a bar for a friends 30th birthday and he started talking to this girl then one day a few weeks later she just stopped talking to him for no reason it is apparently called ghosting. This is a new term for my dictionary but I guess not so new for others. I’m not sure what the point is of just stopping talking to someone without confronting them, it seems cowardly to me. I think it will give you a bad name don’t do that shit. If you don’t want to talk to a guy/girl anymore just tell them, don’t waste their time (woman/man up) and just tell them the truth that you aren’t into them.

So what did we learn from this date?

1. Punch Buggy the best/worst car game ever! Only the fast survive!

2. If you are going to play poker it is a good idea to know the rules first… it makes for a more convincing poker face.

3. Ghosting is for Cowards. Don’t be that person. Don’t waste anyone’s time because time is too precious to waste.

4. Pick-up lines are hilarious but don’t fall for them and if you are using them I seriously hope it is only in a joking manner because if not you need to work on your skills.

5. A families love is one of a kind! They are there when you need them and you don’t always get to choose them but throw thick and thin they got your back. Whether it’s grilling your friends with 20 questions or yelling at some punk saying something rude to behind your back or maybe filling your room with rubber snakes (lol), remember everything they do is because they love you.

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Instagram Long Shadow
My Favorite Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page