top of page

Tennis & a Picnic in the Park

This is one of my dates from May so I got lucky it was a warmer day! I still have a bunch of dates, I wanted to get them done by the end of the year but since I didn’t start my blog until April I don’t think I will be finishing them by December but I’m going to give it my best shot! I also have some exciting news! I got accepted into a minimester program in college, a 2.5 week study abroad program to London in January!!! I really need to give a big shout out to my parents, THANK YOU! They have offered to watch my son so I could take this once in a lifetime opportunity to learn some corporate communications from the best teachers and companies in the UK (Yeah!!!! Email me if you have any travel tips I’ve never been to Europe).

I was pumped for this date with my cousin Ashley to go play some tennis ( FYI- this is a great date for anyone…whether you are just getting to know them or have been in a relationship for years or with a friend or family member. Ashley is one of my cousins that I don’t have the opportunity to see very often. When she told me she would go on a blog date with me I was so happy! She is an absolutely wonderful person and a fantastic mother to a beautiful daughter.

On this date Ashley and I went to our local rec center to play some tennis followed by a picnic! I am no Serena Williams (that’s an understatement… more like I’m no Serena Williams at age 80 if she had a broken arm…lol) but I’m not the worst tennis player. Ashley hasn’t ever played tennis before but she is a champ she gave it her and picked it up pretty quickly (a lot faster than the first time I played). Not going to lie, there was a lot of running after the ball on both sides but on the plus side it was good exercise.

While playing tennis we caught up on life, kids, and our families like cousins do (lots of laughs, eye rolls, and head nods). After catching up we talked about some hot dating topics: sex with your ex and sleeping with friends. Sleeping with your EX….worst idea ever Ashley began by saying unless you are trying to work it out. Remember there is a reason they are an ex, a reason it ended. Do not under any circumstance put yourself in that position because it can bring up too many feelings (speaking from girls who have lived it, listen just this once. I haven’t listen to that advice went it was given to me before and it didn’t end well… obviously). Sleeping with someone who it ‘just a friend’ let sum it up with just one word complicated. Ashley and I are both guilty of this and we agree that at the time it seems like a good idea but it cause drama, possible feelings, awkward encounters and sometimes unwanted expectations. Once you cross that line you can’t uncross it so you better know what you are getting into. Sex is something your body needs in order to function at an optimum level but you can’t account for the emotional factors of anyone other than yourself (some bitches be crazy and some dicks just jealous as fuck or the other way around…you never know. I’m just saying be smart & remember safe sex good sex).

After my last blog I had a lot of people ask me why I would write such personal information on my blog. My blogs are all personal to me but I started writing them to express what it was like to start to move on and have fun while doing that… but my real goal was to help anyone who has ever felt like they weren’t good enough or there life was a wreak after a break up. If my blog can help just one person who has a broken heart or feels stuck in a rut in their relationship then I have accomplished everything I wanted to by telling my story. My life and all its drama is dialed down to try to stay on topic (& sometimes to be nice…. Oh I could be a huge BITCH if I wanted to but I try to keep it to a PG-13ish rating if you catch my drift *cough cough* Plus I am a good person, the grab a drink and pull up a tailgate laugh with you all night kinda girl). Karma is a bigger bitch then I could ever be.

While Ashley and I were eating our lunch I asked her for her best dating advice. She had a couple of great responses, “Have trust in your partner. At least trust them until they prove they can’t be trusted.” Ashley also said not to go into a relationship with a preconceived idea of what it will be like and not to judge your relationship based on other relationships. Basically if you want it to work go in very open minded!

Ashley and I had a fantastic time chatting, eating, and playing tennis! Even if we will not be winning any trophies anytime soon (lol). This date will get you moving and talking! So what did we learn from this date?

1. NEVER have sex with your EX, too many feeling arise.

2. Props to all the athletes! Exercise makes you feel great & who care if you look hilarious working out… no judgement here (I’m right there with you).

3. Sleeping with friends is complicated & not recommended.

4. Don’t judge your relationship based on others relationships, go in open minded and with no preconceived ideas.

5. Don’t forget to celebrate your accomplishments even when life is crazy, you got this!

6. Be yourself and remember you deserve better!!!!

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Instagram Long Shadow
My Favorite Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page